Firmware downgrade

From Trezor Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Firmware downgrade refers to the process of uploading an older than the currently used firmware on the Trezor device (e.g., uploading the firmware v1.7.1 on a device running v1.7.2).

It is possible to downgrade your firmware of your Trezor device if needed.


Warning It is strongly recommended not to downgrade your firmware unless there is a strong reason for it. Installing custom firmware on your Trezor device will erase its memory and may make it unusable. Never use this process unless you really know what you are doing!


How to downgrade your firmware on your Trezor device[edit]

1. Visit https://wallet.trezor.io and connect your Trezor.

2. Type "custom_firmware" after your Trezor device ID in the URL.

Wallet custom firmware.png

3. Download the needed firmware version (.bin file) from the Trezor Github repository (Trezor One, Trezor T) and click on "Choose File" to upload the FW file.

4. Trezor Wallet now prompts you to initiate the firmware update process. Follow the instructions to load the firmware file on the device.


It is not possible to downgrade the firmware on Trezor One once certain firmware has been installed.

Trezor One downgrade options[edit]

Installed FW version Possible to downgrade
1.6.0 or older Yes, to whatever version
1.6.1 No
1.6.2 No
1.6.3 No
1.7.0 No
1.7.1 Yes, to 1.7.0
1.7.2 Yes, to 1.7.1 and 1.7.0
1.7.3 No
1.8.0 No
1.8.1 Yes, to 1.8.0
1.8.2 Yes, to 1.8.1 and 1.8.0
1.8.3 Yes, to 1.8.2,1.8.1 and 1.8.0
1.9.0 Downgrading to 1.8.3,1.8.2, 1.8.1 and 1.8.0 is possible, but it always erases the wallet.
1.9.1 Yes, to 1.9.0 without erasing the wallet. 1.8.3 and older always erases the wallet.
1.9.2 Yes, to 1.9.1 and 1.9.0 without erasing the wallet. 1.8.3 and older always erases the wallet.
1.9.3 Yes, to 1.9.2, 1.9.1, and 1.9.0 without erasing the wallet. 1.8.3 and older always erases the wallet.


Trezor Model T firmware downgrade options[edit]

Installed FW version Possible to downgrade
2.0.10 or older Yes, to whatever version without erasing the wallet
2.1.0 Downgrading to 2.0.10 or older is possible, but it erases the wallet.
2.1.1 Yes, to 2.1.0 without erasing the wallet. 2.0.10 and older erases the wallet.
2.1.4 Yes, to 2.1.1 and 2.1.0 without erasing the wallet. 2.0.10 and older erases the wallet.
2.1.5 Yes, to 2.1.4, 2.1.1, 2.1.0 without erasing the wallet. 2.0.10 and older erases the wallet.
2.1.6 Yes, to 2.1.5, 2.1.4, 2.1.1, 2.1.0 without erasing the wallet. 2.0.10 and older erases the wallet.
2.1.7 Yes, to 2.1.6, 2.1.5, 2.1.4, 2.1.1, 2.1.0 without erasing the wallet. 2.0.10 and older erases the wallet.
2.1.8 Yes, to 2.1.7, 2.1.6, 2.1.5, 2.1.4, 2.1.1, 2.1.0 without erasing the wallet. 2.0.10 and older erases the wallet.
2.3.0 Downgrading always erases the wallet.
2.3.1 Yes, to 2.3.0 without erasing the wallet. 2.1.8 and older always erases the wallet.
2.3.2 Yes, to 2.3.1 and 2.3.0 without erasing the wallet. 2.1.8 and older always erases the wallet.
2.3.3 Yes, to 2.3.2, 2.3.1, and 2.3.0 without erasing the wallet. 2.1.8 and older always erases the wallet.
2.3.4 Yes, to 2.3.3, 2.3.2, 2.3.1, and 2.3.0 without erasing the wallet. 2.1.8 and older always erases the wallet.
Like Trezor? Get one here!