Recovery seed backup fail

From Trezor Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

The Trezor device can accidentally lose power during the backup procedure. This might be caused by a weak cable connection or other mishaps. As the recovery seed is displayed only once, there is no way to read it again if the device is disconnected during the backup procedure. You have to erase your device and start over with the setup process. Although the process takes several minutes, it is strongly recommended to complete it. Otherwise, you will not be able to restore access to your wallet in case of loss or damage.

Please follow the instructions below depending on your situation.

Case 1: There are no cryptocurrency funds in your wallet.

This case also applies to you if you have not used other Trezor services yet, such as GPG, SSH or Trezor Password Manager.

  1. Go to wallet.trezor.io (or beta-wallet.trezor.io) and connect your Trezor device.
  2. Unlock your Trezor device with your PIN.
  3. Click on the name of your device to enter Settings and select Advanced.
  4. Scroll down and click on Wipe device. For more information about wiping your device, see also Wiping your Trezor.
  5. Confirm the action on your device.

Recoverybackupfail-wipe.png

  1. Reconnect your Trezor device to initialize a new wallet. See also Setting up your Trezor device.

Case 2: You do have cryptocurrency funds in your wallet.

This case also applies to you if you have been using other Trezor services, such as GPG, SSH or Trezor Password Manager.

  1. Go to wallet.trezor.io (or beta-wallet.trezor.io) and connect your Trezor device.
  2. Unlock your Trezor device with your PIN. Wait for Trezor Wallet to load your accounts.
  3. Send all your funds to a different wallet.
  4. Repeat step three for all your cryptocurrencies. Remember that you might have stored some cryptocurrencies using a third-party wallet interface, such as MyEtherWallet or MyCrypto.
  5. If you have been using the Trezor Password Manager, please save your passwords elsewhere. You will not be able to access this database again.
  6. Make sure that all your funds have been moved elsewhere. You will not be able to access this wallet and any accounts in it again.
  7. Click on the name of your device to enter Settings and select Advanced.
  8. Scroll down and click on Wipe device button (see the screenshot above). For more information about wiping your device, see also Wiping your Trezor.
  9. Confirm the action on your device.
  10. Reconnect your Trezor device to initialize a new wallet. See also Setting up your Trezor device.
  11. Now you can send your funds back to your newly generated wallet.

Purchasing a second Trezor device

The previous section requires you to use a third-party wallet to transfer your funds. To keep your funds safe at all times, we recommend purchasing a second Trezor device. That way, you can send your funds to your other Trezor instead of trusting a third party. Owning two Trezor devices is an extra step to protect your property.