User manual:Using locktime

From Trezor Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Trezor Wiki/User/User manual/ Using locktime

It is possible to use the locktime feature with your Trezor device. Locktime is an optional part of Bitcoin transactions. It sets the earliest time a transaction can be mined into a block. It is possible to use Locktime with Trezor to make sure that a transaction is locked until a specific block height or a point in time.


1. Calculate the block you would like to add your transaction into: current block height + number of blocks to wait for the adding transaction.


NoteYou can find the current block height on this blockchain explorer for Bitcoin and this blockchain explorer for Litecoin.



2. In the account Send tab, click on the Add locktime button:

Locktime in Send Menu.png

3. This reveals the Locktime input field, where you can specify the desired block:

Locktime revealed.png

4. If you add a future block as a locktime in your transaction, an error will appear on your screen. No need to worry, Trezor Suite just cannot broadcast the transaction because of the selected locktime. You can now copy the raw transaction in hex format and save it. It is necessary to broadcast the transaction after the given block is reached, e.g., with an external broadcast transaction tool.

Locktimeerror.png
Important Be sure to save your raw transaction data in a safe place, because anybody with access to it will be able to spend your coins.
Like Trezor? Get one here!