User manual:Wiping your Trezor

From Trezor Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Trezor WikiUserUser manualWiping your Trezor

The purpose of this guide is to help you wipe or reset your Trezor device.

NoteThis page appplies to Trezor Model T (show for Trezor One).

Wiping the device's memory deletes all data associated with the pre-existing accounts and settings associated with the device, such as PIN, name, homescreen, and passphrase settings.

WarningAlways make sure your seed is valid before wiping your device! You can check the validity of your seed at any time by doing the Dry-run recovery

Wiping the memory of a locked, PIN-protected device

Similarly to other types of passwords, PIN often gets lost and forgotten. A locked Trezor Model T only allows disabling the PIN protection by resetting the device to factory settings.

When connected to Trezor Wallet, swipe your finger across the screen while simultaneously plugging the cable in your Trezor Model T. Once connected in bootloader mode, confirm the connection to Trezor Wallet on your device.

You can see the process of getting into the bootloader mode illustrated in this short clip.

T2 BL reset confirm.png

Click Reset Device button and confirm the action on your device.

Your Trezor is now like new. Reconnect the device and install the firmware. Once the firmware is installed, you can continue to Recovery process

Wiping the memory in the Trezor Wallet interface

Select the device in the Trezor Wallet interface by clicking on the name of your Trezor and find the Advanced tab in the menu bar located at the top of the page. Here you can configure the device's advanced settings.

Click the Wipe device button at the bottom and confirm the action on your Trezor.


See the recovery article in our User manual if you wish to recover your wallet after wiping it